Devil’s Lake

Striked me with a rock. I’m bleeding. Sing with me, I’m sinking.

Glorious darkness of the night, I gave up on the light. I cleansed my soul with a beating heart. I gave praise to my life as we will never be apart.

I’m sorry but I couldn’t give you what you needed. I’m death.
I’m sorry but I couldn’t give you what you wanted. I’m death.

I panicked until I saw your face. I gave up cos you’ve won this race.

I confess that I hung myself with the string you keep close to your heart.

I set myself up for failure. I repent that pain, lust and everything evil only keeps me sane.

I wasted so much time believing that this sheep’s clothing would match my hearts desire.

Mirror-mirror on the wall. I cry out with rage!
Am I beautiful in this cage?

I’m awake. Yet I feel like I’m suffocating in a coffin under the devil’s lake.

Pour me that wine of guilt. Serve me that food I hope to eat still.

I see myself in pain. I tried to let you help me but I needed to keep searching.

I found myself at the devil’s lake.

Leave a Reply

