The Common Double Standard

Do you ever feel unbalanced in your relationship?

What’s the logic behind double standards in relationships?

Here is some common double standards you may be subject to, which conveniently don’t apply to your boy or girlfriend:

1. I can go out with my friends anytime I want, but you should check with me before you go out.
2. If I want to flirt with girls or guys it’s okay; you aren’t allowed to flirt.
3. It’s not a big deal if I blow up your phone when I can’t get a hold of you; just make sure you never do that to me.

“Why would anyone be with someone who thinks like that?”

That is the question everyone asks, but don’t really know the answer to.

There’s a lot of reasons to why double standards happen in relationships. Firstly, it could be that your partner don’t feel that you are equals. And another reason could be that your partner wants to control you. But the most common reason for double standards are insecurities.

To cure the common double standard is a relationship that is based on mutual respect and trust.

So treat your partner as you would like to be treated.

Leave a Reply

